News stories - road to 2022
News Story


Eight teams to contest 24th Arabian Gulf Cup in Qatar

The 24th Arabian Gulf Cup will be contested by eight teams, with the matches taking place in Qatar between 26 November and 8 December. The opening match will be contested by Qatar and Iraq.

A new draw was held in Doha today (14 November) after the Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation (AGCFF) announced that Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain would join Qatar, Oman, Kuwait, Iraq and Yemen in the tournament.

The eight teams have been split into two groups of four. Group A will be contested by Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Yemen and Iraq, while Group B contains Oman, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and Bahrain. The top two teams from each group will contest semi-finals before the final is held on 8 December.

Jassim Al Rumaihi, General Secretary of the AGCFF, said: "Excitement is building for the tournament, which we are delighted to be hosting in Qatar for the fourth time. We are looking forward to welcoming thousands of fans from across the region for what promises to be a memorable event – everyone is welcome to Doha."

Tickets for the tournament are available online from and from numerous outlets across Qatar, including the Mall of Qatar, Villagio, Doha Festival City, Souq Waqif and Katara.

Fans who purchased tickets online prior to the new draw will be reimbursed directly to their bank accounts within ten days. All tickets purchased at outlets will be replaced, at no extra charge. For further information about tickets, contact [email protected].

Qatar have won the tournament three times and will be aiming for a glorious double in 2019 after lifting the AFC Asian Cup in February. Oman are the defending champions after winning the tournament for the second time in 2017.